Navigating Life's Twists and Turns

Lessons from John McEnroe to All the Graduates

Last year I had the priviledge to be there in person during the Stanford Commencement Ceremony, as my friend was graduating.

Stanford 132nd Commencement

You probably have seen Steve Jobs’ speech in 2005. This time the guest speaker was John McEnroe, an American former professional tennis player, also a Stanford dropout.

These are some of the lessons he shared with the graduates, that I believe everyone needs to hear:

For most of your life, you are out there alone, For better or for worse, it’s just you, and that can be terrifying. So, when you get those opportunities to be part of something bigger than yourself, take them.

Everyone wants a great career, but don’t miss your life on the way to work. Work-life balance may seem impossible but it’s worth pursuing.

You’re the sum of your whole life, not your professional accomplishments, so start enjoying your life now, don’t wait till your career takes off.

In sports, you often hear the phrase “winning is everything”, but in reality, it is not. The questions you have to answer are:

Am I getting better as a person? And is what I’m doing bringing me and those around me happiness?

The answers will tell you whether or not you’re really winning.

If your mentality is, if it’s not success then it is failure, you’re life will be really really hard.

Success gives us another chance to keep plugging away at what we love to do, that’s all it really easy.

One person’s victory is another person’s defeat. Win or lose, what matters is giving everything you’ve got.

Measure your success by how much you evolve not necessarily how much you win. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes, and have the balls to say what you feel.

The respect of your peers is the ultimate achievement.

No matter who it is, you have to be able to stand up for yourself, whether it is your father or your boss, and be your best advocate.

If someone is at the top of their game, it’s best to stay out of their way. That’s one of the gifts of a great coach.

Life doesn’t go as planned, and sometimes you need to pivot, and the path you end up on, can be better than anything you ever imagined.

Your life will go by fast. Give it your all. Stand up for yourself. Stay curious. Be a good citizen of the world. Don’t get crushed by the weight of your own expectations. Know that the real victory in life is a long game.

Since I recently graduated from TUM with a Master’s degree in Management and Technology, I decided to rewatch John McEnroe’s speech again. These are life lessons I want to carry with me as I move forward.

If you like this newsletter, consider sharing it with your friends, sharing is caring after all.

As a master’s student at TUM, I received $35,000 in financial support. Now I am sharing all the scholarships I came across and my cover letter with you: