Are you asking the right people for advice?

Solo traveling to Brazil

Greetings from Brazil!

I am here on a one-month solo travel trip, and so far I am loving Florianopolis.

When I first shared the news that I wanted to go on a solo travel trip to Latin America, most people’s reactions were:

“Don’t do it.”

“Don’t go alone.”

“Brazil is not safe.”

“Don’t stay in hostels.”

Only a few people supported the idea of traveling to a Latin American country alone: my family (which supports any idea I have nevertheless), and people who solo travel! They actually reached out to give me tips on how to make the best of my travel, hostels to stay in, how to stay safe, and cities and countries to be cautious about. Most importantly, they were excited and encouraged me to start my new adventure!

This made me realize the importance of asking the right people for advice.

If you want to go on a solo travel trip, ask people who have solo traveled.

If you want to start a business, ask people who have started a business.

If you want to move abroad, ask people who have moved abroad.

And so on and so on.

If you ask people who have never tried what you want to try, they will mirror their fears and worries on you, give you all the reasons why you shouldn’t go for it, and why it might not work out. Often, they don’t mean it in an ill way, they just do not know better.

They might even manage to convince you.

If I had listened to the people who have never solo traveled I would be in Albania now, instead of sitting in a cabin with the view of a lake and palms in front of me while writing this newsletter. I would not be sandboarding, surfing, or swimming in the Atlantic Ocean in the mornings. I wouldn’t have met amazing solo travelers and digital nomads in hostels. I would be living a small life, and I do not want that for me.

If I have a tip for you, ask for advice from people who have experience on what you want to try. A solo traveler will never discourage you from traveling alone. A business owner will never prevent you from starting your own business. A person who moved abroad to change their life will never stop you from doing the same. Instead, they will give you a hand, share their experiences, and give you all the reasons why you should indeed try.

Think of something you have wanted to try for a while, but haven’t because of doubt or fear. Who are some people who have gone through the same experience you can reach out to and ask for advice?

My trip to Brazil is not my first solo trip, but it is my first long-period solo trip, and I am so excited I am doing this! If you are interested in knowing more about my first solo trip, read Backpacking and Solo Travelling in Sri Lanka.

If you like this newsletter, consider sharing it with your friends, sharing is caring after all.

Are you an Albanian developer who wants to work for a US or German company? Fill out this form.

Below you find some of my digital products: